emailFacebookInstagramTwitterYoutube Portal Parents and Students



Top students honored at 2024 academic banquet

Hampton City Schools celebrated the academic achievements of students from its four high schools at the 2024 Academic Excellence Banquet, held at the Hampton Landing Marina Hotel on May 23, 2024. These students were recognized for their dedication and hard work towards academic excellence.


The top two students from the freshmen, sophomore, junior, and senior classes from each school were recognized, as well as additional seniors with outstanding SAT and/or ACT scores.


Muhammed Al Saffar, the 2023 graduate and salutatorian of Hampton High School, was the guest speaker at the event. He shared insightful experiences from his first year at William & Mary, highlighting both the challenges and triumphs he encountered. Al Saffar provided valuable advice on navigating college life, emphasizing the importance of perseverance, adaptability, and seeking support when needed, inspiring the students as they prepare to embark on their own academic journeys.

“The Academic Excellence Banquet was truly an evening of celebration,” shared Shameka Pollard, HCS chief of secondary school leadership. “Our young people continue to impress me with their intellect, hard work and commitment to serving our community. They truly embody the qualities of the Portrait of a Hampton Graduate.”


Each of the following students were presented with an academic medal by their executive principal, assisted by School Board Chair Dr. Richard Mason and Superintendent Dr. Raymond Haynes.

Bethel High School

Dr. Tanya Howard, executive principal

Zachery Brnich

Daniella Brown

Calvin Cephas

Trinity Chisholm

Amaya Cooper

Marissa Johnson

Isabella Mendez

Zaria Milligan

Dhruhi Patel 

Hazel Ramirez

Trinity Robinson

Nevaeh Singleton

Karina Stevens

Ava Tanner

Jennifer Vuong

Hampton High School

Haneef Majied, executive principal

Alena Bevard

Kay Boursiquot

Nirmani Brahmbhatt

Nishtha Brahmbhatt

Henry Broughton IV

Aaron Bunn

Seamus Card

Angela Chen

Angelina Christie

Christine Dang

Krista Fountain

Jaliyah Gary-Williams

Abby Ndoye

Stephanie Ndukwu

Amir Stanley

Kecoughtan High School

Dr. Dwayne Lucas, executive principal

Anna Brady

Lucy Brady

Willard Davenport

Natalie Gillott

Bernard Gillott V

Joseph Hagin

Anna Hoang

Bera Koklu

David Lang

Lam Duy Le

Chandler Lilley

Hongsheng Liu

Abigail Matthews

Alexandra Mingee

Antonette Paxon

Phoebus High School

David Coccoli, executive principal

Katalia Bowie

Caitlin Chapman

Paul Davis

Jacob Fialkowski

Cai Gomes

Sasha Harris

Isaac Horne

Nolan Ladison 

Kaleb Lucas

Xander Owen 

Owen Smith

Nathan Smith

Robert Staton, III

Christian Washington

Clayton Young

Click here to view the video of the event.